What’s New In B. Rabbit’s World

Published November 12, 2014 by B. Rabbit

If you follow this blog at all, you’ll notice that I’ve taken the sticky at the top of the page down. Why? Well, mostly because I’m ashamed that I didn’t live up to that whole “trying to post weekly” thing. (And also because I got tired of seeing it there.)

I’ve had a rough time of it this year, and fall and winter are rarely kind to me, so if I have more of the same, I won’t be surprised. Hopefully not.

Regardless, I need to stop using it as an excuse not to write.

I’ve got a few poems I should post, but they don’t quite ring true enough to suit me yet. I’ve been experimenting with various forms, as opposed to my usual “throw some shit together and call it free verse” style, and I’m still trying to get it right. I will get off my ass and finish editing them so that I can post them…eventually.

Short fiction is on a brief hiatus for now, as my friend A. Nicole Writes talked me into participating in NaNoWriMo this year. I’m hopelessly behind on my word count, but I’m doing better than I first thought I would. I’ve been trying to rework my project I began at the first of the year since summer, and I had made a little progress. Now I’ve made it my NaNo project, and it’s…well, I won’t say it’s good, but it’s coming along, at least. So there’s that.

I hope to get enough of it reworked that I can start over with posting it on its site again next year. It’s veered away from its original premise, which was “something funny with parodies of myself and my friends in it that we can all laugh at,” to “actual satire with focus on the Southern American experience that inverts the usual ‘action’ tropes and skewers sexism, racism, homophobia, classism, society’s treatment of mental illness, the pervasiveness of the male gaze…and fanfiction because fuck you, that’s why.” Or at least I hope that’s what it’ll be, while also still remaining a funny action story. Maybe.

After the madness that is November is over, I’m going to do my best to force myself to write short fiction again because a.) I (sorta) enjoy it, and b.) I can tell I’m slowly, slowly getting better at it. Not good, mind you, but better. (I’m basing this on more than just the two pieces I’ve posted here, obviously.)

So, yeah, that’s pretty much the way of things here right now. Hopefully, post-NaNo there will be some new stuff up. Until then…I’m always on Tumblr! (Shut up, Tumblr is life, ok?)

Leave a Reply

